Bronze Ring and Horseshoe Updates

16 Apr

While browsing the Pitt Rivers collection, my mom found this ring that is the spit of the cast-bronze ring I unearthed on my first dig (in Stagsden). If the dating here is correct, the one in my possession may be even older than we imagined. Another reason I’m grateful to live in Oxford: ready access to world-class museums!

Image

My ring, by way of comparison:

62157_371605679613674_2115655787_n

And then my parents found this horseshoe in the Ashmolean:

horseshoe

Their discovery caused me to dig the horseshoe we’d found in Stagsden out of the rubbish. My dad said it is extra lucky, because it has been found twice!

AshmoleLegend

Here is the twice-found Stagsden shoe:

20130416_225736

One Response to “Bronze Ring and Horseshoe Updates”

  1. Paul May 6, 2016 at 7:21 pm #

    Celtic ring money thats what that is.

Leave a Reply

