Deus Ex Machina

30 Mar

So today I finally took it for a spin. The Deus. I’d watched countless hours of videos to get ready for the moment, and now it had arrived. The Deus, me, and a field called Noah that was destined to produce medieval coins and relics.

I had a couple of programs that I’d taken from videos by Gary (Gary’s Detecting) and Ged ‘Peacehavens’ Dodd, and I went for a lazy, short (<two hours) hunt to get to know the machine.

And what a machine! Setup is a dream; the tones are crisp; it weighs less than nothing; and I can already tell that it will be deeper than Baikal.  My first-ever signal was this nut:

 FullSizeRender

Not long after, only fifteen minutes in, I found my first coin, a Victorian ha’penny of 1891. A good omen, I thought.

Just two steps away, I found a Georgian (possible) penny, but I’m not sure which George.

FullSizeRender_1

FullSizeRender_3 FullSizeRender_4

I also found the above rotted and rusted penknife, a watch face, bronze ring, and strangest of all, a thimble with a clay marble wedged inside it. Once I got home, I soaked the thimble in olive oil for a couple of days in order to loosen the crud and patina holding the marble in place. Eventually out it popped.

Update, 10 April 2015: At the Blues club meeting this evening, I showed the thimble with marble to my FLO, Anni Byard. It triggered something in her memory, but she couldn’t say precisely what, only that this wasn’t a sui generis phenomenon; she’d heard of marbles in thimbles before. Later on I found a similar object on the Metal Detecting Forum (MDF). My best guess is that it reflects a child’s ball-in-cup game or a bit of residual superstition.

FullSizeRender FullSizeRender_1 FullSizeRender_2 FullSizeRender_3

Leave a Reply

