Hammered Lizzie (First Silver with the Deus)!

2 Apr

It’s my mom’s birthday today, and she must have brought me luck, because when I sneaked out for a cheeky late-afternoon hunt on Noah field, I found my first hammered silver with the Deus, my third hammy of the year. The coin is an Elizabeth in great condition; seems to be a penny (Spinks 2558), but still awaiting a precise ID.

FullSizeRender_2 FullSizeRender_3

I had wanted to have a short hunt to try out the new Garrett Propointer AT, which arrived in the post today. I bought it so that both my dad and I would have a pinpointer during his visit. It’s like my trusty Garrett Propointer except newly waterproofed and orange to prevent accidental loss:

FullSizeRender

During the hunt I also found a lead token and this lead cloth bag seal:

FullSizeRender_1

An indeterminate Georgian penny, a fishing weight, a thimble, and two medieval/post-medieval buckles (the larger of which was broken), along with some buttons and lead bits rounded out the haul. FullSizeRender (17)

FullSizeRender_2 FullSizeRender_3

Leave a Reply

