April Searching

24 Apr

I’m going to include a pic of my new(ish) finds pouch here, since I forgot to do so earlier. Detecting Goodies sewed it for me, and even stitched an image of my choice on the front (obvious what that choice was):

IMG_0494

I like the pouch a lot looks-wise, but I’ve found it has some issues; the velcro on the flap isn’t big enough, so it often pops open. I’ve gone to the standard Minelab finds pouch myself, but I’ve attached this one to a secondary belt for guests (Dad?)…

April has been a slow month so far, as most fields are under growing crops, and I’ve needed to concentrate on my thesis. I got out for an evening hunt on

11 April 2015, Noah

and found another bent lead trade token and some unidentified bits, as well as a spectacular giant spindle whorl:

FullSizeRender

FullSizeRender_1

FullSizeRender_2

12 April 2015, OBMDC Dig in Cumnor

We had a massive ploughed field as a club today, but not much came up. I had arguably the best outing with a milled silver sixpence of Victoria (1901), and a local trade token from an Oxford mercer, or cloth merchant (1657). The pics below show the silver out of the ground and cleaned up.

IMG_1523 IMG_1531 IMG_1532

FullSizeRender

IMG_1534

IMG_1525 IMG_1529 IMG_1530

14 April 2015, Sir Thomas

A quick evening hunt on Roman Alley turned up three Roman radiates of indifferent quality, though one has a nice reverse:

FullSizeRender (20)

19 April 2015, Northmoor OBMDC Dig

I finished a thesis draft at 5:30 am, but still tried to make a club dig at 9 to clear my head. Unfortunately I slept in and didn’t show at the dig site until 11. It was on fields near the Thames in Northmoor that the club has visited many times. People were already leaving in frustration when I arrived, and as I have a P nearby, I decided to try my luck on the latter. Shortly after I left, however, Mike H. found a gorgeous hammered silver Soldino. I searched on my P for an hour or two on pasture but only found this George III half (1799), which I gave to the landowner:

IMG_1718

IMG_1716

23 April 2015, Sir Thomas

A short hunt found me this knackered Roman radiate on Sir Thomas:

IMG_1759

24 April 2015, Ulmo

Ulmo has just been ploughed, and as most the other fields are under crops, I thought I’d take a try before it begins growing. I managed to turn up two Romans, one of which was damaged but with a nice portrait, with the other illegible. I also found a bit of medieval buckle and an as-yet unidentified object.

FullSizeRender IMG_1789

Leave a Reply

